BREWERTON, NY – To show the level of competition every Friday night in Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds at the Brewerton Speedway one has to look no further than this past Friday when Tom Sears Jr. became the fifth different winner in five feature events run so far in 2019.

Sears would take the lead in the 35-lap feature on lap 20 after a close battle with Nick Krause who had led the race since lap 4. Once out-front, Sears, behind the wheel of the Mullen Industrial Handling, No.62s had to hold off a fast closing Larry Wight in the late going for the popular win.

Other winners on Regional Truck & Trailer and Ingles Performance night were, Dylan Zacharias & Jeff Taylor (DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman) Casey Sykes (U.S Air Force Mod Lites) Quinn Wallis (Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 4-Cylinders).

Tim Harris and Roy Bresnahan would lead the Modified field to the green to start the 35-lap feature with Bresnahan leading until lap 4 when Nick Krause would take the lead by a bumper at the flag stand.

Krause, Tom Sears Jr., and Bresnahan were in a three-car breakaway race for the lead by lap 10 with Chad Phelps and Larry Wight racing side-by-side for fourth and fifth.

On lap 15 Krause was having his best run of the season as he was locked in a tight battle for the lead with Sears. Behind the top-two, Bresnahan, Wight and Phelps still showed in the top-five.

After hounding Krause lap after lap, Sears was finally, on lap 20, able to drive by Krause to be scored the new leader.

With 10 laps to go, Sears held a slim lead over Krause as the pair raced for the lead in traffic. Behind the top-two Bresnahan, Wight and now Billy Decker raced for third through fifth.

Over the final laps it came down to Tom Sears Jr. and Larry Wight to decide it. Sears hit his marks over those laps to grab the slim 0.474 victory at the checkers in the caution free race. Billy Decker, Nick Krause and Roy Bresnahan finished third through fifth.

With 41 cars signed into the pits, a pair of 25-lap Sportsman features were run.

In the first feature Joe Sobotka would jump out to a few car lengths advantage by lap 5 with Earl Rudy, Tim Devendorf, Zach Sobotka and Brandon Carvey locked in tight fight for second through fifth.

On lap 10 the yellow would wave, erasing the lead Sobotka had built up, putting Dylan Zacharias next to him for the restart. Zacharias would take advantage of the restart using the top-side of the speedway to bolt into the lead.

With 10 laps remaining Zacharias in his new Troyer car drove out to a full straightaway lead over Sobotka who ran alone in second. Behind the top-two, you could have thrown a blanket over Rudy, Devendorf, and Brent Joy as they ran just inches apart for top-five positions.

Over the final laps and no yellows to tighten the field up, Dylan Zacharias cruised to his first ever Brewerton Speedway win. Joe Sobotka, Brent Joy, Earl Rudy and Jim Spano finished second through fifth.

In the second feature Jeff Taylor would jump out to the early lead until a yellow on lap 3 when Taylor and Scott Fowler made racing contact in turn one with Fowler going around.

At lap 5 the battle for the lead was under a blanket between Taylor, Tyler Corcoran and Zach Sobotka with Rich Townsend and Amy Holland showing in fourth and fifth.

Taylor held a slim lead at lap 10 with Sobotka, Townsend, Corcoran and Holland still in contention just before a quick yellow.

On the restart Sobotka used the high groove on the speedway to drive into the lead. Taylor fought back to regain a narrow lead with Townsend waiting to pounce on any mistake by the top-two.

Once back out-front, Jeff Taylor ran the race of his career as he was first under the checkers by 1.563 seconds over Rich Townsend for his first ever Brewerton Speedway win. Tyler Corcoran, Zach Sobotka and Amy Holland finished third through fifth.

In the Mod Lite 20-lap feature Tom Mackey and Brian Meyers swapped the lead back and forth in the early going with the racing behind them two-wide in tight fights for positions.

At the halfway point Meyers led with Casey Sykes moving into second on lap 12, setting up a shootout to the finish.

After hounding Meyers lap after lap, Sykes pulled along Meyers on lap 19 going down the back straightaway with the two making racing contact and Meyers spinning, setting up a green, white, checker finish.

When the green came back out Sykes outran Mackey, Joe Garafolo, Zack Babcock and Mike Mullen to round out the top-five.

In the 15-lap Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 4-Cylinder feature Quinn Wallis was the class of the field after taking the lead from Chris Bonoffski. Nobody seriously challenged him the rest of the way. Chris Bonoffski, Chuck Powelczyk, Evan Wright and David DeNova finished second through fifth.

Chris Rombough was once again the winner in the entertaining One-on-One Spectator races.

This Friday, June 28 is one of the must-see, fan favorite nights on the racing calendar when Billy Whittaker Cars & Trux presents a night of racing and Demo Derbies.

Racing will feature the Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds, DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman, U.S Air Force Mod Lites and the Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 4-Cylinders.

After the side-by-side racing it will be time for the sights and sounds of smoke and crunching metal of the Kings Smash ‘Em Crash ‘Em Demolition Derby. Up close action on the front straightaway will see the 4&6 Cylinder Chain and Bang plus the Small Truck & Mini-Van Junk Run.

Adult admission is $15 with everyone 18 years old and younger, free. Pit admission is $27 Participant, $30 Non-Participant. Grandstands will open at 5:30 pm with racing at 7:30 pm.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or .

For all the latest news visit . Like the track Facebook and Twitter pages.

Regional Truck & Trailer and Ingles Performance June 21 Results

(Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds 35 Laps) – TOM SEARS JR., Larry Wight, Billy Decker, Nick Krause, Roy Bresnahan, Tim Sears Jr., Chad Phelps, Chris Hile, Tim Kerr, Robbie Bellinger, Jimmy Phelps, Pat Ward, Ron Davis III, Matt Hulsizer, Katelyn Hile, Andrew Ferguson, Tyler Trump, Tim Harris, Jim Witko, Jason Occhino, Joe August.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #1- 25 Laps – Pending Review) – DYLAN ZACHARIAS, Joe Sobotka, Earl Rudy, Jim Spano, Kevin Root, Tim Devendorf, Brandon Carvey, Mark Yorker, Bob Henry Jr., Billy Clark Jr., Chris Mackey, Joey Buonagurio, Stephen Denton, Tyler Murray, Chris Cunningham, Dorian Wahdan, Ryan Dolbear, Torrey Stoughtenger, Rick Rogala, DNS Mike Stanton Jr. DQ Brent Joy.

(DOT Foods DIRTcar Sportsman #2 – 25 Laps) – JEFF TAYLOR, Rich Townsend, Tyler Corcoran, Zach Sobotka, Amy Holland, Mike Prentice, Alan Fink, Corey Barker, JJ Courcy, Robert Gage, Jeff Prentice, Colby Herzog, John Strickler, Jake Petit, Quinn Wallis, Ricky Yelle, Kyle DeMetro, Mike Fowler, Chris Bonoffski, Willy Decker Jr.

(US Air Force Mod Lites 20 Laps) – CASEY SYKES, Tom Mackey, Joe Garafolo, Zack Babcock, Mike Mullen, Brian Meyers, Kelly Skinner, Roger Olschewske, Hunter Lawton, Dave Brown, Jim Dunham.

(Fleet Repairs Truck & Trailer Repair 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – QUINN WALLIS, Chris Bonoffski, Chuck Powelczyk, Evan Wright, David DeNova, Tim Ballins, Clayton Koch, Ken Pitsley, Jacob Dupra, Scott Mallette, Dylan Curcie, Sam Curcie, DNS Ray Bechler.

(One-on-One Spectator Races) – Chris Rombough.

Dave MedlerNews
  BREWERTON, NY – To show the level of competition every Friday night in Tracey Road Equipment DIRTcar Modifieds at the Brewerton Speedway one has to look no further than this past Friday when Tom Sears Jr. became the fifth different winner in five feature events run so far in 2019. Sears...