BREWERTON, NY – August 25, 2017 – A picture perfect weather night greeted fans and racers Friday at the Brewerton Speedway. The racing was fast, furious and competitive with the final checkered flag of the race program waving before 10:00 pm.

Last weekend at the Brewerton Speedway Tim Sears Jr.’s own No.83x big block modified was sidelined with engine problems so he jumped behind the wheel of Larry Wight’s backup car for the weekend. The results were a pair of top-five finishes at Brewerton Speedway and a victory Saturday night at the Fulton Speedway. Friday night at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon” Sears was back behind the wheel of his own car and the result was the same, success.

Sears started 14th in the 35-lap Tracey Road Equipment Modified feature and methodically worked his way forward with his car working no matter where he put it on the speedway. The turning point of race came with a caution with 11 laps to go when Sears was running 3rd.  On the restart Sears would bolt to the lead and then hold off a heavy challenge from Billy Decker for his first win of the year.

Other winners on Mirabito night were, Ron Davis III (Sportsman) Casey Sykes (Mod Lites) Chris Bonoffski (JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders) Chris Bonoffski (2017 JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinder Track Champion).

Tom Sears Jr. and Adam Roberts brought the Big Block Modified field down to starter Dave Farney’s green flag with Sears grabbing the early advantage in the 35-lap feature.

Sears opened a narrow advantage at lap-5 as Mike Bowman and Mike Mahaney in his family owned car raced side by side for second and third with Lee Gill and Roberts showing in the top-five.

A quick yellow on lap-9 would slow and erase the advantage Sears opened up plus the two and three wide racing behind him.

At the lap-15 mark, Sears and Bowman were still showing the way out front as Tim Sears Jr. who started 14th was rapidly gaining on the top-two with Lee Gill and Matt Hulsizer running fourth and fifth.

On lap-20 Sears ran out to a half a straightaway lead as Bowman, Tim Sears and Mahaney looked for a way to close in on the leader.

Just when it looked like Tom Sears who was in total command of the race would cruise to the win, the yellow flag would wave on lap-24 to tighten the field up. On the restart Tim Sears Jr. would use a power move to bolt from third to be scored the new leader of the race.

Over the final laps Sears would have to hold off serious challenges from 18th starting and point leader Billy Decker for the narrow win. Tom Sears, Jr., Mike Bowman and Max McLaughlin would finish third through fifth.

In the 25-lap SUNY Canton Sportsman feature Amy Holland and Earl Rudy would have a close battle for the lead at the front of the field racing bumper to bumper and side by side until yellow flags on lap-8 and lap-10 slowed the action. On the lap-10 restart Rudy would drive into the lead.

With 10-laps to go Rudy, Gill and Holland were in a three-car slug fest for the top-three spots with Ron Davis III and Dylan Zacharias still in contention.

You could have thrown a blanket over Gill, Rudy and Davis with 5-laps to go. In the end Davis was too strong as he would take the lead on lap-22 and never look back for his third Brewerton win of the year.  Jackson Gill, Earl Rudy, Amy Holland and Dylan Zacharias finished second through fifth.

Tom Mackey would lead the opening 3-laps of the 20-lap Firehouse Subs Mod Lite feature before Brian Meyers took over the top spot. Once five-time feature winner Casey Sykes moved into second, Sykes and Meyers would put on a show for the lead. Sykes would make the winning pass on lap-13 and would never look back for win number 6 of 2017. Brian Meyers, Jeff Sykes, Mike Mullen and Lowell Zehr finished second through fifth.

In the highly competitive 15-lap JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinder feature Chris Bonoffski was the show. Starting at the tail of the field Bonoffski would take the lead on lap-12 and then go on to his sixth feature win of the year and also be crowned the 2017 Track Champion.

This Friday, September 1 the Brewerton Speedway kicks off Labor Day weekend in a big way with Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints plus Championship night for the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, SUNY Canton Sportsman and Firehouse Subs Mod Lites.

St. Baldrick’s will also be on hand. Most people think of St. Bladricks with shaving of your hair. You get to keep your hair on Friday, September 1. This will be a Chinese Auction style fundraiser. Event Organizer Shawn Hunter said, “If you don’t walk out of the track with something, you weren’t at my event.”

To learn more about St. Baldrick’s and the event click the links below.

Adult grandstand admission on September 1 is $20 with everyone 18 years old and younger FREE. Pit admission is $35. Gates will open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

Any questions you might have and for marketing opportunities please contact Cory Reed (315) 668-6906 or  For all the latest news go to .  Like the track Facebook

Mirabito Night At The Speedway Results

(Tracey Road Equipment Modifieds 35 Laps) – TIM SEARS JR., Billy Decker, Tom Sears Jr., Mike Bowman, Max McLaughlin, Matt Hulsizer, Jimmy Phelps, Lee Gill, Pat Ward, Jeremy Smith, Larry Wight, Mike Mahaney, Andrew Ferguson, Adam Roberts, Jim Witko Jr., Tim Kerr, Jeff Blackburn, Chad Phelps, Chris Hile, Roy Bresnahan, DNS-Gary Tomkins.

(SUNY Canton Sportsman 25 Laps) – RON DAVIS III, Jackson Gill, Earl Rudy, Amy Holland, Dylan Zacharias, Todd Root, Mike Stanton Jr., Rich Townsend, Alan Fink, Kevin Root, Brent Joy, Nick Krause, Zach Sobotka, Tyler Trump, Joe Isabell, Glenn Forward, Tyler Thompson, Kyle Fink, Gordy Button, Will Shields, Chris Cunningham, Jake Davis, Jordan Bennett, Joe Sobotka, Stephen Denton, Rocco Leone, DNS- Matthew Becker.

(Firehouse Subs Mod Lites 20 Laps) – CASEY SYKES, Brian Meyers, Jeff Sykes, Mike Mullen, Lowell Zehr, Justin Williams, Sam Usborne, Tom Mackey, Dave Brown, Nick Graziano, Kelly Skinner, DNS – Keith Stevenson.

(JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinders 15 Laps) – CHRIS BONOFFSKI, Jacobe Palmiter, Donnie Rider, Sam Curcie, Stephen Randall, Jamie Radley, Lorraine Powelczyk, Sabrina Jeffries, Dylan Curcie, David DeNova, Chuck Powelczyk, Quinn Wallis, Stephen Denton, Evan Wright.

(2017 JB Logging & Firewood 4-Cylinder Track Champion) – Chris Bonoffski.

Dave MedlerNews
BREWERTON, NY – August 25, 2017 – A picture perfect weather night greeted fans and racers Friday at the Brewerton Speedway. The racing was fast, furious and competitive with the final checkered flag of the race program waving before 10:00 pm. Last weekend at the Brewerton Speedway Tim Sears Jr.'s own...